Skip to main content

Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP vs. Milbank LLP

Category by category. Sources: Vault 2027, Am Law 200 FY2025, and reported Chambers records from the years shown.

+ Add firm

Who Wins Each Category

Each row stands on its own. There is no overall winner; weigh what matters to you.

CategoryCravathMilbank
Higher pay wins$225,000$235,000+ (wins this category)
Higher wins$7.20M$7.62M (wins this category)
Lower rank wins#1 (wins this category)#9
Lower rank wins#50#28 (wins this category)
Higher wins$1.29B$2.14B (wins this category)
More lawyers wins5721,025 (wins this category)
OfficesMore offices wins411 (wins this category)
Nationwide, Chambers USA 2026More Band 1 tables wins6 tables9 tables (wins this category)
2L OpensSummer 2028Earlier date winsNot ComparableJan 4, 2027Open now
1L OpensEarlier date winsNo 1L ProgramNot Reported

Sources: Vault 2027 and Am Law 200 FY2025 rankings, Chambers USA 2026, first-year pay as each firm or the market reports it, and program dates from firm career pages on the Job Board. Missing data reads Not Reported and never counts as a loss.

Full Comparison

Rankings & prestige

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP#1
  • Milbank LLP#9

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP#50
  • Milbank LLP#28

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP15 records
  • Milbank LLP11 records
Compensation

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP$225,000
  • Milbank LLP$235,000+

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP$7.20M
  • Milbank LLP$7.62M

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP$1.29B
  • Milbank LLP$2.14B

Revenue per lawyer

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP$2.26M
  • Milbank LLP$2.09M
Work & scale

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPNot Reported
  • Milbank LLPNot Reported

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP7 years
  • Milbank LLPNot Reported

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP3.4:1
  • Milbank LLPNot Reported

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP~550
  • Milbank LLP~1,050

Offices

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP4
  • Milbank LLP11
Summer Program

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP100%
  • Milbank LLP99.1%

Class size

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP143 (year not confirmed)
  • Milbank LLP100 (2026)

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPRotation
  • Milbank LLPNot Reported

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPYes
  • Milbank LLPYes
1L and 2L programs

1L program

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPNo 1L summer program
  • Milbank LLP1L events

1L applications open

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPNot Reported
  • Milbank LLPNot Reported

2L applications open

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPJan 4, 2027
  • Milbank LLPOpen now

2L deadline

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPNot announced
  • Milbank LLPNot announced
Chambers by practice, market and year

Green marks the stronger for the same practice, market and year. Shared results are listed once. split some top tables.

Rank differences

AntitrustNationwide · 2026
  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPBand 1
  • Milbank LLPBand 4
AntitrustNew York · 2026
  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPBand 1
  • Milbank LLPBand 4
Banking & FinanceNationwide · 2026
  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPBand 2
  • Milbank LLPBand 1
Banking & FinanceNew York · 2026
  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPBand 2
  • Milbank LLPBand 1
Bankruptcy/RestructuringNew York · 2026
  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPBand 1 · Highly Regarded
  • Milbank LLPBand 1 · Elite
Corporate/M&ANew York · 2026
  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPBand 1 · Elite
  • Milbank LLPBand 2 · Highly Regarded
Litigation: General CommercialNew York · 2026
  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPBand 1 · Elite
  • Milbank LLPBand 3 · Elite
Litigation: SecuritiesNew York · 2026
  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPBand 1
  • Milbank LLPBand 3
TaxNew York · 2026
  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPBand 1
  • Milbank LLPBand 2
Tax: Corporate & FinanceNationwide · 2026
  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPBand 1
  • Milbank LLPBand 3
Capital Markets: High-Yield DebtNationwide · 2026
  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPBand 2
  • Milbank LLPBand 3
Litigation: General CommercialNationwide · 2026
  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPBand 2 · Elite
  • Milbank LLPBand 2 · Highly Regarded

Firm-only and additional rankings remain available on each firm profile so missing coverage is not mistaken for a head-to-head loss.

See which of these firms are open on the Job Board

Data sources: Vault 2027, Am Law 200 FY2025, and reported Chambers records from the years shown. Chambers record counts can span years and reporting coverage varies; missing years or markets are not compared. Current Chambers bands were checked against each firm’s Chambers profile on Sep 26, 2026; where Chambers splits a table, every Elite firm ranks above every Highly Regarded firm. Missing values read “Not Reported”.