Skip to main content

Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP vs. Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP

Category by category. Sources: Vault 2027, Am Law 200 FY2025, and reported Chambers records from the years shown.

+ Add firm

Who Wins Each Category

Each row stands on its own. There is no overall winner; weigh what matters to you.

CategoryCravathCleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton
Higher pay winsTie$225,000$225,000+
Higher wins$7.20M (wins this category)$6.05M
Lower rank wins#1 (wins this category)#16
Lower rank wins#50#32 (wins this category)
Higher wins$1.29B$1.95B (wins this category)
More lawyers wins5721,110 (wins this category)
OfficesMore offices wins416 (wins this category)
Nationwide, Chambers USA 2026More Band 1 tables wins6 tables9 tables (wins this category)
2L OpensSummer 2028Earlier date winsJan 4, 2027Nov 12, 2026 (wins this category)
1L OpensEarlier date winsNo 1L ProgramNot Reported

Sources: Vault 2027 and Am Law 200 FY2025 rankings, Chambers USA 2026, first-year pay as each firm or the market reports it, and program dates from firm career pages on the Job Board. Missing data reads Not Reported and never counts as a loss.

Full Comparison

Rankings & prestige

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP#1
  • Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP#16

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP#50
  • Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP#32

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP15 records
  • Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP13 records
Compensation

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP$225,000
  • Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP$225,000+

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP$7.20M
  • Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP$6.05M

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP$1.29B
  • Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP$1.95B

Revenue per lawyer

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP$2.26M
  • Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP$1.76M
Work & scale

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPNot Reported
  • Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLPNot Reported

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP7 years
  • Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP8 years

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP3.4:1
  • Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP2.3:1

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP~550
  • Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP~1,100

Offices

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP4
  • Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP16
Summer Program

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP100%
  • Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP100%

Class size

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP143 (year not confirmed)
  • Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP128 (year not confirmed)

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPRotation
  • Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLPCentralized staffing

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPYes
  • Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLPNo
1L and 2L programs

1L program

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPNo 1L summer program
  • Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP1L summer program

1L applications open

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPNot Reported
  • Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLPNot Reported

2L applications open

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPJan 4, 2027
  • Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLPNov 12, 2026

2L deadline

  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPNot announced
  • Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLPNot announced
Chambers by practice, market and year

Green marks the stronger for the same practice, market and year. Shared results are listed once. split some top tables.

Shared rankings

Antitrust · Nationwide · 2026Band 1
Capital Markets: Investment Grade Debt: Issuer Counsel · Nationwide · 2026Band 1
Employee Benefits & Executive Compensation · New York · 2026Band 1
Tax · New York · 2026Band 1
Tax: Corporate & Finance · Nationwide · 2026Band 1
Employee Benefits & Executive Compensation · Nationwide · 2026Band 2

Rank differences

Capital Markets: Investment Grade Debt: Manager CounselNationwide · 2026
  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPBand 1
  • Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLPBand 2
Corporate/M&ANationwide · 2026
  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPBand 1 · Elite
  • Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLPBand 3 · Elite
Corporate/M&ANew York · 2026
  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPBand 1 · Elite
  • Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLPBand 3 · Elite
Litigation: General CommercialNew York · 2026
  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPBand 1 · Elite
  • Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLPBand 2 · Elite
Litigation: SecuritiesNew York · 2026
  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPBand 1
  • Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLPBand 2
Litigation: White-Collar Crime & Government InvestigationsNew York · 2026
  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPBand 1 · Highly Regarded
  • Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLPBand 1 · Elite
Securities: Regulation: AdvisoryNationwide · 2026
  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPBand 1
  • Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLPBand 2
Banking & FinanceNationwide · 2026
  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPBand 2
  • Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLPBand 4
Banking & FinanceNew York · 2026
  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPBand 2
  • Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLPBand 3
Capital Markets: Equity: Issuer CounselNationwide · 2026
  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPBand 3
  • Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLPBand 2
Capital Markets: Equity: Manager CounselNationwide · 2026
  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPBand 2
  • Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLPBand 3
Capital Markets: High-Yield DebtNationwide · 2026
  • Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPBand 2
  • Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLPBand 3

Firm-only and additional rankings remain available on each firm profile so missing coverage is not mistaken for a head-to-head loss.

See which of these firms are open on the Job Board

Data sources: Vault 2027, Am Law 200 FY2025, and reported Chambers records from the years shown. Chambers record counts can span years and reporting coverage varies; missing years or markets are not compared. Current Chambers bands were checked against each firm’s Chambers profile on Sep 26, 2026; where Chambers splits a table, every Elite firm ranks above every Highly Regarded firm. Missing values read “Not Reported”.