Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP vs. Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP
Category by category. Sources: Vault 2027, Am Law 200 FY2025, and reported Chambers records from the years shown.
Who Wins Each Category
Each row stands on its own. There is no overall winner; weigh what matters to you.
| Category | Davis Polk & Wardwell | Munger |
|---|---|---|
| Higher pay winsTie | $225,000Market base | $225,000 |
| Higher wins | $9.80M (wins this category) | $3.11M |
| Lower rank wins | #7 (wins this category) | #29 |
| Lower rank wins | #14 (wins this category) | #128 |
| Higher wins | $3.20B (wins this category) | $369.50M |
| More lawyers wins | 1,000 (wins this category) | 200 |
| OfficesMore offices wins | 12 (wins this category) | 3 |
| Nationwide, Chambers USA 2026More Band 1 tables wins | 17 tables (wins this category) | 1 table |
| 2L OpensEarlier date winsNot Comparable | Open nowSummer 2028 (rolling) | Jan 1, 2027Summer 2028 |
| 1L OpensEarlier date winsNot Comparable | Expected early OctoberClass of 2030 | Jan 1, 2027Summer 2027 |
Sources: Vault 2027 and Am Law 200 FY2025 rankings, Chambers USA 2026, first-year pay as each firm or the market reports it, and program dates from firm career pages on the Job Board. Missing data reads Not Reported and never counts as a loss.
Full Comparison
- Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP
Est. 1849
- Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP
Est. 1962
Est. 1849
Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP is a 1,000-plus-attorney firm, Vault #7 / Am Law #14. Jurisdiction-specific Chambers rankings include Band 1 in Antitrust, Banking & Finance, and Bankruptcy/Restructuring. Operates from 12 offices worldwide.
Est. 1962
Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP is a ~200-attorney firm. Jurisdiction-specific Chambers rankings include Band 1 in Appellate Law, Energy: State Regulatory & Litigation, and Litigation: General Commercial.
- Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP#7
- Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP#29
- Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP#14
- Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP#128
- Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP29 records
- Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP4 records
- #7
- #14
- 29 records
- Vault rank
- #29
- Am Law rank
- #128
- Reported Chambers Band 1 records
- 4 records
- Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP$225,000
- Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP$225,000
- Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP$9.80M
- Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP$3.11M
- Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP$3.20B
- Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP$369.50M
Revenue per lawyer
- Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP$2.59M
- Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP$2.10M
- $225,000
- $9.80M
- $3.20B
- Revenue per lawyer
- $2.59M
- First-Year Comp
- $225,000
- Profits Per Partner
- $3.11M
- Firm revenue
- $369.50M
- Revenue per lawyer
- $2.10M
- Davis Polk & Wardwell LLPNot Reported
- Munger, Tolles & Olson LLPNot Reported
- Davis Polk & Wardwell LLPNot Reported
- Munger, Tolles & Olson LLPNot Reported
- Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP3.5:1
- Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP1.5:1
- Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP~1,000
- Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP~200
Offices
- Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP12
- Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP3
- Not Reported
- Not Reported
- 3.5:1
- ~1,000
- Offices
- 12
- Billable target
- Not Reported
- Partnership track
- Not Reported
- US associates per partner
- 1.5:1
- Firm size (rounded to 50)
- ~200
- Offices
- 3
- Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP99.4%
- Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP93.3%
Class size
- Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP220 (year not confirmed)
- Munger, Tolles & Olson LLPNot Reported
- Davis Polk & Wardwell LLPCentralized staffing
- Munger, Tolles & Olson LLPNot Reported
- Davis Polk & Wardwell LLPNo
- Munger, Tolles & Olson LLPNo
- 99.4%
- Class size
- 220 (year not confirmed)
- Centralized staffing
- No
- Offer rate
- 93.3%
- Class size
- Not Reported
- How associates get work
- Not Reported
- Specific practice area
- No
1L program
- Davis Polk & Wardwell LLPNo 1L summer program
- Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP1L summer program
1L applications open
- Davis Polk & Wardwell LLPExpected early October
- Munger, Tolles & Olson LLPJan 1, 2027
2L applications open
- Davis Polk & Wardwell LLPOpen now
- Munger, Tolles & Olson LLPJan 1, 2027
2L deadline
- Davis Polk & Wardwell LLPNot announced
- Munger, Tolles & Olson LLPNot announced
- 1L program
- No 1L summer program
- 1L applications open
- Expected early October
- 2L applications open
- Open now
- 2L deadline
- Not announced
- 1L program
- 1L summer program
- 1L applications open
- Jan 1, 2027
- 2L applications open
- Jan 1, 2027
- 2L deadline
- Not announced
Green marks the stronger for the same practice, market and year. Shared results are listed once. split some top tables.
Shared rankings
Rank differences
- Davis Polk & Wardwell LLPBand 1 · Elite
- Munger, Tolles & Olson LLPBand 2 · Highly Regarded
- Davis Polk & Wardwell LLPBand 1
- Munger, Tolles & Olson LLPBand 4
- Davis Polk & Wardwell LLPBand 5 · Elite
- Munger, Tolles & Olson LLPBand 4 · Elite
Firm-only and additional rankings remain available on each firm profile so missing coverage is not mistaken for a head-to-head loss.
See which of these firms are open on the Job Board
Data sources: Vault 2027, Am Law 200 FY2025, and reported Chambers records from the years shown. Chambers record counts can span years and reporting coverage varies; missing years or markets are not compared. Current Chambers bands were checked against each firm’s Chambers profile on Sep 26, 2026; where Chambers splits a table, every Elite firm ranks above every Highly Regarded firm. Missing values read “Not Reported”.
More head-to-head comparisons
- Cravath, Swaine & Moore vs. Davis Polk & Wardwell
- Cravath, Swaine & Moore vs. Munger, Tolles & Olson
- Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz vs. Davis Polk & Wardwell
- Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz vs. Munger, Tolles & Olson
- Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom vs. Davis Polk & Wardwell
- Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom vs. Munger, Tolles & Olson
- Latham & Watkins vs. Davis Polk & Wardwell
- Latham & Watkins vs. Munger, Tolles & Olson
- Sullivan & Cromwell vs. Davis Polk & Wardwell
- Sullivan & Cromwell vs. Munger, Tolles & Olson
- Kirkland & Ellis vs. Davis Polk & Wardwell
- Kirkland & Ellis vs. Munger, Tolles & Olson
Firm data comes from each firm’s own publications, Chambers USA and Vault; see Davis Polk & Wardwell and Munger, Tolles & Olson for sources and dates.