Skip to main content

Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP vs. Susman Godfrey LLP

Category by category. Sources: Vault 2027, Am Law 200 FY2025, and reported Chambers records from the years shown.

+ Add firm

Who Wins Each Category

Each row stands on its own. There is no overall winner; weigh what matters to you.

CategoryDavis Polk & WardwellSusman Godfrey
Higher pay wins$225,000Market base$240,000 (wins this category)
Higher wins$9.80M (wins this category)$5.23M
Lower rank wins#7 (wins this category)#19
Lower rank wins#14 (wins this category)#92
Higher wins$3.20B (wins this category)$650.41M
More lawyers wins1,000 (wins this category)226
OfficesMore offices wins12 (wins this category)4
Nationwide, Chambers USA 2026More Band 1 tables wins17 tables (wins this category)1 table
2L OpensEarlier date winsNot ComparableOpen nowSummer 2028 (rolling)Not announcedSummer 2028
1L OpensEarlier date winsExpected early OctoberClass of 2030Not Reported

Sources: Vault 2027 and Am Law 200 FY2025 rankings, Chambers USA 2026, first-year pay as each firm or the market reports it, and program dates from firm career pages on the Job Board. Missing data reads Not Reported and never counts as a loss.

Full Comparison

Rankings & prestige

  • Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP#7
  • Susman Godfrey LLP#19

  • Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP#14
  • Susman Godfrey LLP#92

  • Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP29 records
  • Susman Godfrey LLP7 records
Compensation

  • Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP$225,000
  • Susman Godfrey LLP$240,000

  • Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP$9.80M
  • Susman Godfrey LLP$5.23M

  • Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP$3.20B
  • Susman Godfrey LLP$650.41M

Revenue per lawyer

  • Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP$2.59M
  • Susman Godfrey LLP$2.88M
Work & scale

  • Davis Polk & Wardwell LLPNot Reported
  • Susman Godfrey LLPNot Reported

  • Davis Polk & Wardwell LLPNot Reported
  • Susman Godfrey LLP6 years

  • Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP3.5:1
  • Susman Godfrey LLPNot Reported

  • Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP~1,000
  • Susman Godfrey LLP~250

Offices

  • Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP12
  • Susman Godfrey LLP4
Summer Program

  • Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP99.4%
  • Susman Godfrey LLP85.7%

Class size

  • Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP220 (year not confirmed)
  • Susman Godfrey LLP35 (year not confirmed)

  • Davis Polk & Wardwell LLPCentralized staffing
  • Susman Godfrey LLPNot Reported

  • Davis Polk & Wardwell LLPNo
  • Susman Godfrey LLPNo
1L and 2L programs

1L program

  • Davis Polk & Wardwell LLPNo 1L summer program
  • Susman Godfrey LLP1L fellowship

1L applications open

  • Davis Polk & Wardwell LLPExpected early October
  • Susman Godfrey LLPNot Reported

2L applications open

  • Davis Polk & Wardwell LLPOpen now
  • Susman Godfrey LLPNot announced

2L deadline

  • Davis Polk & Wardwell LLPNot announced
  • Susman Godfrey LLPNot announced
Chambers by practice, market and year

Green marks the stronger for the same practice, market and year. Shared results are listed once. split some top tables.

Rank differences

Litigation: General CommercialNew York · 2026
  • Davis Polk & Wardwell LLPBand 2 · Elite
  • Susman Godfrey LLPBand 1 · Elite
Litigation: General CommercialNationwide · 2026
  • Davis Polk & Wardwell LLPBand 5 · Elite
  • Susman Godfrey LLPBand 2 · Elite

Firm-only and additional rankings remain available on each firm profile so missing coverage is not mistaken for a head-to-head loss.

See which of these firms are open on the Job Board

Data sources: Vault 2027, Am Law 200 FY2025, and reported Chambers records from the years shown. Chambers record counts can span years and reporting coverage varies; missing years or markets are not compared. Current Chambers bands were checked against each firm’s Chambers profile on Sep 26, 2026; where Chambers splits a table, every Elite firm ranks above every Highly Regarded firm. Missing values read “Not Reported”.